KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   What to do first? Help for a total newbie! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=63332)

EileenInWI 08-04-2007 10:14 AM

What to do first? Help for a total newbie!

I've been crocheting for over 10 years and now I want to learn to knit. Thinking back to when I first learned to crochet, I know that everything that seems hard about knitting now will become second nature eventually. But for now I need help!

I was able to learn the double cast on and single cast on from the videos. Should I learn all the other cast on methods listed, or for now just stick with these? Then I watched the video on how to do the knit stitch about 15 times and finally thought I got it. So I tried a row, looked at it, and it was just one big jumbled mess.:whoosh: So obviously I wasn't doing something right. I am trying to find someone locally who can help me, I don't know if the videos are going to cut it for me.

Anyway, I'm a bit confused as to where to go from here. Keep trying what I'm doing, any other videos on this site I can watch? Maybe I don't even know what I'm asking! I just feel lost on how to get going and I'm obsessed now about learning to knit! :hair:

Ingrid 08-04-2007 10:33 AM

You don't need to learn all the cast ons right now. Find one that you're comfortable with--the long-tail is a good all-purpose one.

There are other sites that have pictures of knitting rather than video, so you might want to try those.

http://www.learntoknit.com/instructions_kn.php3

This one was the first that popped up on google and it has illustrations. Many knitting books and magazines have illustrations on how to do basics, as well.

Hang in there--it's not rocket science.:thumbsup:

EileenInWI 08-04-2007 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ingrid (Post 925070)