KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   direction to wrap yarn in knit stitch (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68441)

apinchofhope 10-24-2007 10:11 PM

direction to wrap yarn in knit stitch

I have been knitting for a few years off and on, and I'm currently half-way through a super long harry potter scarf (red and gold stripes) on circular needles (which are so cool to use!). I was sitting with a friend who also knits, and we noticed that we knit differently. when I do the knit stitch, I wrap my yarn clockwise around the needle, while she wraps hers counter-clockwise. I have "knitting for dummies" and it shows wrapping the yarn counter-clockwise, but I don't remember what my book said (that I learned from)... is there any detriment to my knitting because I wrap it the other way? the finished stockinette stitch looks normal and neat, no twisted yarn or anything... any thoughts? :??

Ingrid 10-24-2007 10:42 PM

I wrap counter-clockwise. Wrapping the other way will produce a twisted stitch, but if they're all twisted, it's not necessarily noticeable.

Jax3303 10-25-2007 08:28 AM

as long as you always wrap the same direction for all stitches, there's nothing to worry about. I wrap counter-clockwise for everything and never have problems, my best friend wraps everything clockwise for every stitch with the same results. I have another friend who insists on wrapping counter-clockwise for K's and clockwise for P's and no matter how many times I explain it to her, she still does it and every piece of flat stockinette that she does is all twisted stitches.

GiddyKnitter 10-25-2007 08:50 AM