KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Tight or Loose Knitting? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73026)

amyt 01-04-2008 03:33 AM

Tight or Loose Knitting?

Is one better than the other, or is it just a matter of style? I am new to knitting and so far have used just the knit stitch on a couple of projects (very simple). I so far am tending to have a looser style than tighter, and I just want to make sure I keep going with a good habit, or nip a bad one in the bud. Thanks for your input! Amy

ArtLady1981 01-04-2008 03:58 AM

There is nothing harder to work with than knitting that is too tight and choked up on the needles!

I think being slightly looser is better, simply because you can work the stitches so much easier!

Eventually, you will need to get your 'gauge' under control. I used to knit so loose that my first ARAN pullover (size 4) turned out to be a size 24! I had used the suggested needle size in the pattern. :doh:

After that debacle, I started sizing down my needles. So, if a pattern suggests a US 8 needle with this or that yarn...I needed to size down to a US 5 needle! I continued on my merry way, knitting loosely on the needle...but because my needle was so much smaller, my knitted piece turned out the RIGHT SIZE! :woot:

I think "loose knitters" are generally feeling more relaxed and calm when they knit. Watch how your tension changes when you are under more stress than usual! :eyebrow:

amyt 01-04-2008 07:14 AM

Thanks for your answer! - Yes, I agree about being relaxed. And I haven't made anything yet that needs to be a certain size (just a few scarfs and a throw blanket). But I have been using larger needles - maybe I should start trying out smaller needles, still keeping my looser style - it sounds like it works for you. thanks again, Amy

Knitting Gnome 01-04-2008 02:09 PM