KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Knitting (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Discouraged (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=79028)

danshe 04-24-2008 03:54 AM

Discouraged

I've been knitting for about 6 months and loving it. My main problem is that I can't fix mistakes. I've both read and been shown how to unravel or unknit but my attempts lead to a complete mess. I put one scarf away unrepaired several weeks ago waiting until I can get the hang of it.
But I'm 2/3 done with this noro scarf and decided to give it a try: http://www.oceanwindknits.ca/section...ree%20patterns

My only option is to rip it out and start again- but there's no guarantee I won't make a mistake again.
Can one be a "knitter" if she can't undo mistakes?

Jan in CA 04-24-2008 05:22 AM

Do you mean you can't tink back stitch by stitch or that you can't use a crochet hook to go back down a few rows to fix a stitch?

One thing you can do is to use a lifeline when working a complicated pattern (or any really). Put a length of smaller gauge yarn or embroidery floss on a yarn needle and run it through the stitches on the needle after you've done a certain amount of rows and then move it up as you get more done. I think it's usually best to do it after each pattern repeat so if you have to rip back you now right where you are. There are 8 rows to the pattern repeat on this scarf you linked to so at the end of row 8 you put the lifeline in. :thumbsup:

Karina 04-24-2008 05:46 AM

If you go to the video section on this site there are a tips section which show videos of how to do the life line as Jan described and other commen mistakes. Take a peek might help if you can see it in action.

WandaT 04-24-2008 09:11 AM