KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Help with sweather (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=79919)

sig 05-21-2008 11:36 AM

Help with sweather

Hello! I'm trying to find a way to fix this sweather.
Everything is ok with it but I don't like the neck, it's too low. Is it there a way to add a collar to this type of sweather? I just finished seaming. There's no way I'm wearing this sweather with such a low neck, I added a couple of inches but guess cotton always stretches. Anyway... hope you can help me or direct me to the right place. Thank you! :thumbsup:

PS. this pattern didn't had any neck shaping, you just had to split the front and make some decreases.

Knitting_Guy 05-21-2008 11:40 AM

Well, I'm no expert but I would think you should be able to go back and pick up stitches at the lower part of the neck and knit a few inches up into it to make it higher.

The hard part might be making that invisible.

sig 05-21-2008 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knitting_Guy (Post 1110122)
Well, I'm no expert but I would think you should be able to go back and pick up stitches at the lower part of the neck and knit a few inches up into it to make it higher.

The hard part might be making that invisible.

Thank you!:thumbsup: That's what I was thinking. I just found this instructions for another sweather
Neckband
Using smaller circ needle, with RS facing and beg at one shoulder, pick up and knit 33 [36, 40, 44, 50] down left neck edge; place marker to mark center st, k center st from safety pin; pick up and knit 33 [36, 40, 44, 50] up right neck edge; and pick up and knit 30 (32, 36, 40, 44) sts across back. 97[105, 117, 129, 145] sts
Place marker to show beg of rnd.
Next Round: Work neckband in (k2, p2) rib until 2 sts before center front marker, SSK, k1, k2tog, work to end in rib patt.