KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Knitting (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Knit and Purl stitches (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=86031)

crocee 11-26-2008 01:13 AM

Knit and Purl stitches

Do the knit and the Purl stitches look exactly the same if done alone?

I am just learning to knit, I am teaching myself by the videos on the site. So far I have made 2 squares, one in the knit stitch, and one in the purl stitch. I can not tell them apart. Are they supposed to look the same?

My next square will be knit one row, purl the next. Then I will try increasing and decreasing. making a square is the only way I can master the stitch.
Andi

Jan in CA 11-26-2008 02:27 AM

If you knit both sides you get garter stitch and they do look the same on both sides. If you purl both sides you get the same thing.

If you knit one side and purl the other you'll get stockinette stitch.

Does that help?

crocee 11-26-2008 02:46 AM

Thank you so much. I was getting frustrated thinking I was doing another squaer of knit stitches when I was supposed to be doing purl stitches.

I seem to be able to keep my tension more even when purling. The knit square is so tight. I have only been knitting for about 5 days over the past 2 weeks.
Andi

cftwo 11-26-2008 10:33 AM

Give yourself time and practice to get the tension right. That's just one of those things which takes time.

Abbily 11-26-2008 12:10 PM

Knit is the other side of purl, and purl is the other side of knit. :)

crocee 11-26-2008 02:25 PM

These are my 2 squares, well 1 is a square and the other is a rectangle but they are both my first practice pieces. The small one is the knit stitch and the other is the purl stitch. I think my tension is getting much better and more even. Neither sample has been blocked yet. Please critique them if you would.

Jan in CA 11-26-2008 02:42 PM

1 Attachment(s)