KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Knitting (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   WOOL FIBER VS ACRYLIC FIBER (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=86186)

Kibben 12-01-2008 02:59 PM

WOOL FIBER VS ACRYLIC FIBER

What is the advantage of using wool fiber? Most professional knitters & "upscale" knitting patterns use wool instead of acrylic fiber. Thank you for your response.:knitting:

reeny 12-01-2008 03:04 PM

I am no expert, but animal fibers such as wool are much better at keeping you warm and dry. So, if you are making a hat or gloves or the like, it is better if you stick with wool.

ETA I just made my very first pair of mittens and I used acrylic. They seem fine to me, but I think I am going to use a wool or alpaca blend for my next pair.

Jan in CA 12-01-2008 03:34 PM

Generally I think wool is used for many reasons including it's warmth and it's nice to knit with. Acrylic is man-made which is a turn off for some, plus some people say it it makes them feel sweaty because it doesn't breath. I don't have a problem using it though.

Mike 12-01-2008 03:59 PM

I don't have a problem with either.

I like wool because it works to regulate temperature rather than just hold warmth and it's superior at wicking away moisture. Wet wool still insulates.
But wool is more expensive and harder to wash (assuming it's not a washable type which are even more expensive). Wool also tends to take on odors (sometimes even create its own odors).

I use acrylic because of price. If I could afford it I would use nothing but wool.
But I like to hunt so having the good insulating/wicking properties is important to me. I think for some it's nothing more than perception.

newamy 12-01-2008 05:50 PM