KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Knitting (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Gifts of Knitted Items (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=90038)

merri 03-19-2009 08:42 PM

Gifts of Knitted Items

Would anyone care to discuss how you present a gift to someone of a knitted garmet or other item? For instance, do you take a photo of it first? Do you give the recipient one of the ball bands and/or instructions on caring for the item? Do you keep a record of the size needles and swatch of the yarn or? Just wondering what others do, etc. Thanks! From a 'somewhat' newbie here....

Merri

globaltraveler 03-19-2009 09:08 PM

I have always taken pics, and if it's not a casual gift but something special, I give them a ball band or instructions so they can care for it properly, yes. With knitting, I plan to post it on my Rav account so I have the info on needles, yarn, etc.

When i was regularly sewing wedding gowns, I used to buy an extra yard of fabric and lace, and would wait to see if they had a baby while they were still in my ken...and then I'd make a christening gown out of the fabric!

vaknitter 03-19-2009 09:27 PM

I try to remember to take pictures, but typically forget. I've found not too many of the people I gift knitted item too will read the ball band so instead of that I attach a small tag to the item that says something along the lines of "Item handknit for Suzy Q by Suzy T and is hand washable only."

I have grand plans of being so organized as to keep pictures, a swatch, notes etc and put it all in a page protector in a notebook.

imrachel 03-19-2009 11:02 PM