[quote=Jan in CA;1390166
One thing that surprised me when I started this was how pervasive gluten is in the food supply! Reading labels is essential and learn the "buzz words" for hidden gluten because it's not always obvious on the label.[/QUOTE]
Caramel color can contain gluten. Natural or naturally derived flavoring can contain gluten. Just because a label doesn't say "contains wheat" doesn't mean it's gluten-free.
Cheating is an option. . . . Cheaters never win and winners never cheat, but smart knitters who want to retain an iota of sanity do, cheerfully. ~~Kory Stamper