Old 03-29-2011, 09:30 AM   #1
kittykins
1st Leg of the Journey

Sock Fever!
Looks like I'm hooked already and I haven't even started my first pair! I've been doing some shopping on the internet, (getting yarn and needles), and wanted to share my experience(s) thus far and see what you all think. Did I do as well as I think I did? Anyone else use these companies/yarns?

Back on the 15th I ordered my Harmony DPN's, (size 2), from Knit Picks. Already knew I would love them...recently received the TRY IT set. That same day I ordered some yarn from Simply Socks Yarn Co. It's: Crystal Palace-Maizy. 82% Corn Fiber, 18% elastic Nylon. Fingering wt. 204 yds per skein. Reg. $7.50 on sale for $3.25! Thought that was a pretty good deal. I couldn't believe it when I found it in my mailbox 3 days later!

Now while I'm waiting for the needles to arrive I got to thinking about the fiber content of this yarn. (Looks yummy). Since I'm just learning to use DPN's I did some researching online and got the feeling I might not want to be working with elastic yarn quite yet. Seems it takes some practice to get the tension right, etc. I need to be focusing on the needles right now. Okay...setting that aside for awhile.

Sooooo now I'm back online shopping for more yarn That was Sun. the 20th. This time I found a company called deramores. There I found: King Cole brand sock yarn. 50% superwash wool, 50% nylon, approx. 493 yds per skein for $6.88. And...FREE SHIPPING!