Old 02-29-2012, 10:33 AM   #1
knutzaboutknitz
Ribbing the Cuff

first big girl sock - yippee!
Having started with a pattern for small basic sock pattern, and knitting approximately 10 to get out all the kinks. I have returned finally to show my first big girl sock.

The good news is that I have enough yarn to do the second big girl sock. I am in love with knitting socks!

On an odd note, in the middle of knitting this sock, I looked to see how others do the knit stitch. I realized I am doing something different.

I take my right needle and place it under the left needle, and through the stitch in the back and pick up the working yarn, and pull it through - as opposed to in front of the left-hand needle. So I am now confused if I am actually 'knitting'. The stitches look proper to me, but I am fairly new at this. Anyhoot - thanks for letting me share. Have a good day!
Attached Thumbnails:
Click image for larger version

Name:	first-big-girl-sock.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	55751  
knutzaboutknitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:01 AM   #2
Antares
Working the Gusset

Congratulations on your first fabulous looking sock! It's perfect!!!

Rest assured that you are definitely "knitting" all right. You just might be doing a twisted stitch or even a different method from what most people do. But it's all knitting, and there's no "wrong way" to do it. The question is, are you happy with the end result?

Of course, you can always learn to knit a different way and even play around with different methods (combining them or just sticking with a new method altogether) to see if you like the end result. But it's all knitting.

If you're curious about what method you're using, you can find tons of videos online showing different knitting methods, and there are several threads and tutorials on KH about different methods, too.

At any rate, you've done a super job on your first sock. Thanks for showing us your accomplishment!!