Old 07-07-2012, 02:15 AM   #1
supercaity1284
Casting On

Insane idea
So I've been thinking a lot lately and realizing that there are no knitting stores in my town that I just moved to. I mean, there's Hobby Lobby and that has a small selection of good yarn/needles. It's pretty much just one aisle. Walmart has some stuff but not a huge selection. Your only options are to drive 40 miles to Tulsa or order on the internet for good yarn/help/classes/etc.
There IS a club that I attend with wonderful ladies and there are twice a week knit-ins.

I would like to open a knitting/yarn store in my town but I wouldn't know the first place to begin. Plus I'm a beginner - I can want a store to open but it's not fair to open one myself with such little knowledge on the subject - just a love of it...it's not fair to those who go there.

I think there's a market for it - I'm not really worried about that - just worried about the other aspect of it...my newbie status.

Maybe get one of the ladies from the knitting club to go in with me on it?

Thoughts?
Old 07-07-2012, 06:20 AM   #2
salmonmac
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,378 Times in 3,061 Posts
Definitely get partners with expertise in knitting and experience in business (and ideally someone with money). Starting a business now, with loans so difficult to come by is not an easy task. There are often volunteer-staffed offices who will advise start ups on all the how-tos. Perhaps there's one in your town or nearby.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to salmonmac For This Useful Post:
supercaity1284 (07-07-2012)
Old 07-07-2012, 07:31 AM   #3
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts