Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 03:50 PM   #1
mlkcrawford
Casting On
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need help with Honeycomb check "draw up a loose loop"
I'm knitting the Honeycomb Check Dishcloth http://www.sugarncream.com/pattern.php?PID=6411
And I can't figure out how to do row 5.
" *Insert RH needle from front of work into center dec st from 3rd row and draw up a loose loop. Place this loop on RH needle. P3. Insert cable needle or crochet hook into front of same center dec st from 3rd row and draw up a loose loop. Place this loop on RH needle. P1. Rep from *
Do I insert my needle through the fabric from the front to the back or do I insert my needle through the v of the stitch on the front of the fabric or do I only use the right side of the v of the stitch for the first time and the left side of the stitch for the second time? Does "draw up a loose loop" mean the same as "pick up a stitch"?
I would really appreciate any help. I've been searching the internet for hours!
mlkcrawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 03:55 PM   #2
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,223
Thanks: 610
Thanked 3,323 Times in 3,008 Posts
When you draw up a loop, you want to insert the needle from front to back through the st so that it's perpendicular to the fabric, wrap the working yarn around the needle tip and take that loop back through the fabric to the front of the cloth. You'll bring the yarn loop up to and place it on the RH needle. Do this loosely so the yarn isn't pulling on the knitted fabric.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to salmonmac For This Useful Post:
mlkcrawford (09-08-2012)
Old 09-08-2012, 04:03 PM   #3
mlkcrawford
Casting On
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So the needle goes through the fabric and not just the v part of the stitch. TY so much. I'll try this and see how it works. I was getting very frustrated!
mlkcrawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 04:06 PM   #4
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,223
Thanks: 610
Thanked 3,323 Times in 3,008 Posts
You've got it, through the fabric. I can't see the pattern yet because my registration hasn't kicked in but you should be able to see from the picture just how tightly or loosely to keep the loop.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
mlkcrawford
Casting On
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It makes lots of sense to use a hook for this too. I think I was confused because the instructions on the 3rd row are specific about keeping the "center" of the decrease stitch on top.
mlkcrawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 04:19 PM   #6
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,223
Thanks: 610
Thanked 3,323 Times in 3,008 Posts
A crochet hook will work well for this too. The benefit of using the needle if you can is that you don't have to stop and pick up the hook. But you have the choice. The centered decrease is always pleasing and looks good with the pull through loop.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I "sew up the sides and then weave in loose ends" ? artistsmom General Knitting 4 01-26-2012 11:08 AM
Does magic loop knitting "hurt" cords? mornnen General Knitting 2 08-04-2006 10:35 AM
"Weave in loose ends" IC How-to Questions 1 01-09-2006 06:06 AM
Newbie: Avoiding "The Loose Loop"... RAILhead How-to Questions 16 01-05-2006 02:05 PM
"sock people"...check this out! kemp General Knitting 8 07-20-2005 07:09 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 AM.