Old 11-19-2012, 04:23 AM   #1
xdunlapx
Ribbing the Cuff

My knitting looks like a trapezoid
Ok I'm new to knitting. I had started a year or so ago but gave up without finishing any project, not even a dish cloth.

I'm knitting a basic garter stitch sweater right now, it's my first project this time around. I'm using circulars since i so far prefer them to straight needles. But my scarf that is hanging from the circulars looks kind of like a trapezoid.. /----\

I know I somehow added two stitches early on and I did k2tog (twice) to reduce by two stitches to get me back to 20 stitches which is what the pattern states for CO. But it still is looking kind of trapezoidish. I didn't tink back to where I added the stitches since this is just a scarf for me and nobody else would be wearing it. I've gotten to about 9 or 10 inches so far. Will the finished piece seem more rectangled when it's done and off of the needles? Will I need to wash and block it and dry it flat? The yarn is Knit Picks Brava Bulky (acrylic) yarn.

I just took a picture of it but it's against my red couch (red yarn) so it didnt come out well. I tried briefly photo editing it but it just wasn't working.

Though I did notice I don't see the trapezoid shape as much in the photo as I do in real life.. So I've got no clue.. Anyone else run into this?
xdunlapx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:08 AM   #2
salmonmac
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,349 Times in 3,033 Posts
It may be that the k2tog (especially if they were close to each edge) are contributing to the trapezoid shape. Since it's acrylic yarn, it won't help to block it but washing and drying according to the labed instructions may help. Keep a good count of the sts every row to make sure you're not picking up sts and if so, that you catch them early on. It will also help you figure out what you're doing to increase the extra sts. There's a lot of information here about extra sts so you can see that you're not alone!