Old 12-11-2012, 06:29 AM   #1
deeknits2
Casting On

Why don't my knit stitches look like the ones in the book or in the videos?
I have been knitting off and on for over the past 5 years. I am a simple knitter. I have made scarfs, gloves, easy to knit and purl patterns. I have started knitting again for the holidays, but my knit stitches do not look anything like the ones from my previous projects or like the ones in books or videos. It seems like I only can make the correct knit stitch when I am knitting in the round. I am using the right size needles with the right yarn. I have watched video after video to see what I am doing wrong and I still can't figure it out. Please help me to do something that brings me joy and happiness. Thanks for any help and advice you can give me.
deeknits2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:49 AM   #2
salmonmac
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,296 Times in 2,982 Posts
Hi and welcome to Knitting Help!
The fact that your knit stiches look correct (like nicely lined up Vs)when you knit in the round makes me think that you might be forgetting to alternate knit and purl rows when you knit back and forth (knitting flat). This with give you the nicely aligned Vs on one side and purl bumps on the other. This video for stockinette stitch shows you what I mean.
http://www.knittinghelp.com/video/pl...stitch-english
salmonmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:01 AM   #3
fatoldladyinpjs
Working the Gusset

If it really bothers you, practice your knitting with some scrap yarn to get better with your tension. Relax and enjoy your knitting. We are our worst critics. There are no knitting police here.