Old 01-09-2005, 09:43 PM   #1
caelidh
Casting On

Fun fur and knit stich only vs seed stitch.
Greetings, I am new,,,

my question.
Why use the seed stitch pattern when creating fun fur scarves when you could just do knit stitch??

I was doing a lionbrand pattern ( I am a beginner basically) and thought I would tackle the "beginner" pattern on one the packages...

As I tried to tackle it from going from alternating knit to purl.. getting lost among all the "fun fur"... I found I was adding stitches inadvertently...

If you can't see the stitch.. what would be the point in making it more difficult? Is there a reason?

I am new to this list... Thanks in advance to my question..
Old 01-09-2005, 10:37 PM   #2
amy
Administrator
Site Admin

Welcome Caelidh!

That's an excellent question. You don't want to do stockinette stitch (knitting one row, then purling the next) because your scarf will curl into a tube. But garter stitch (knitting every row) will work just fine, and is certainly easier to execute than seed stitch!

Amy

‎"There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open."
Martha Graham
amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 12:16 AM   #3
christine
Ribbing the Cuff

Tried Fun Fur and Gave Up on the Pattern On the Back