Old 10-28-2005, 06:29 AM   #1
vinny
Casting On

FAQ...Mysterious extra stitches? Look Here!
im a total beginner learning how to knit. im doing my first practice square, but its becoming triangular as mysterious extra stitches keep appearing. i started with about 25 stitches, and fifteen rows in i had 38!! after another ten rows i have 45. what am i doing wrong???? im really confused.
vinny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vinny For This Useful Post:
dyncdoony (11-08-2013)
Old 10-28-2005, 06:49 AM   #2
susies1955
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to susies1955
Vinny,
I'll only be a month old tomorrow. I'm sure there will be others along shortly to help you out.
I know that for me I was picking up extra stitches because I was trying to go too fast and not really paying attention. Try to slow down and really look at where you are putting the needle in through.
Make sure that it is going through the stitch loop and not something below that along with the stitch. Look after EACH stitch to see that you have only picked up one. I know that sounds silly but until 'we' get familiar with how to do knitting I think we really have to pay attention.
I know that once I started really watching what I was doing and counting stitch by stitch and then making sure I counting after EACH row for a time I started getting much better.
Hope this helps until someone MUCH more experienced gets here.
Welcome to the knitting world and to this forum that I love,
Susie
I started hand knitting (10/01/2005) and got my embroidery machine for Christmas 2005. I had 2 Bond Incredible Sweater Machines given to me in Feb. of 2007 that I'm really enjoying. http://susies1955.myphotoalbum.com/
http://susieshobbyspot.blogspot.com/
susies1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to susies1955 For This Useful Post:
dyncdoony (11-09-2013), Kinnexa (10-14-2008)
Old 05-24-2012, 11:51 PM   #3
Christinechrstms1
Knitting the Flap