Old 02-12-2006, 04:00 PM   #1
kd1949
Casting On

Complete beginner, what needles?
I know nuthin bout knitting but want to learn. What kind of needles are best to start with? I have plastic ones that came in a kit, but I am thinking I might rather have metal, since I seem to be bending these. What size, etc.? I told you I was a beginner!

Kathi
kd1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,223 Times in 1,827 Posts
Welcome to the addictive world of knitting!

I think plastic needles are hard to use, myself. I'd go with metal needles around a size 8 to start with for practice, with some worsted weight yarn. Just keep knitting and purling and you'll get the hang of it quickly.

Needles come in sizes from teeny tiny to big and fat, straight, circular, and double pointed. As you find things you want to knit, you'll see your needle collection growing.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 04:48 PM   #3
bjc1050
Turning the Heel

Re: Complete beginner, what needles?
Originally Posted by kd1949
I know nuthin bout knitting but want to learn. What kind of needles are best to start with? I have plastic ones that came in a kit, but I am thinking I might rather have metal, since I seem to be bending these. What size, etc.? I told you I was a beginner!

Kathi