Old 04-23-2007, 11:55 AM   #1
LizzieM
Casting On

Need help with beginner scarf pattern
I am a beginner and need help with a pattern for a diagonal knit/bias knit scarf... (Instructions are at end.)

What does "Slip first stitch as if to purl" mean? Is that part of the increase or is that done before the increase?

Also, what does "knit 1 18 stitches" mean? Are those additional stiches for the row, or does that just mean that all stiches in the row (except for increase & decrease) should be knit stiches?

Thanks!

-----------

Cast on 18 stitches.

Row 1 Slip first stitch as if to purl. Knit into front and back of next stitch (increase 1). Knit until 3 stitches remain on needle, knit 2 together (decrease 1), knit 1 18 stitches.

Row 2 Slip first stitch as if to purl. Knit to end.

Repeat Rows 1 and 2 until about 24 inches of yarn remains. Bind off loosely and weave in ends.
LizzieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 12:04 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
The slip stitches at the beginning of each row are just to make a smooth chainlike edge, which is why the increase is in the next stitch. The `18 sts' at the end of the 1st row is to tell you you'll still have the 18 sts left that you started with - the increase and decrease on that row balance each other and make it slant.

sue
suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 12:21 PM   #3
LizzieM
Casting On

Sue - I didn't really understand your reply. I am that much of a beginner! So, if you can bare with me... What exactly is a slip stich? Also what did you mean by "you'll still have the 18 sts left that you started with"?
Old 04-23-2007, 12:23 PM   #4
LizzieM
Casting On

Oops. I meant "bear with me".
Old 04-23-2007, 12:33 PM   #5
Abbily
Instepping Out

Thanked 1,603 Times in 1,120 Posts
Go to the glossary on this site, I believe there is a video for slipping stitches.