Old 03-03-2008, 10:34 AM   #1
Danna
Casting On

Loose purl stitches?
I am knitting a simple hat, and I am very new to knitting. I have been practicing, and haven't had this problem in all of my practice pieces.

I am using size 9 needles with worsted weight yarn.
My knit stitches are perfect, but my purl stitches are very loose. I am pulling tight after each stitch, but they loosen up after I let go.

I don't think I am doing anything wrong, but who knows. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I could be doing wrong?
Danna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:42 AM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Quite a few people purl looser than they knit. You could try using a size 8 needle for the purl row.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 07:10 PM   #3
Danna
Casting On

Thanks everyone for all your insight. I guess I will just keep practicing and hopefully my stitches will become tighter.
Danna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:57 AM   #4
Knit4Pie
Turning the Heel

I purl looser than I knit, but it's slightly looser. It doesn't give me holes or anything, and I keep to my gauge, so I don't bother 'fixing'. My aunt, on the other hand, is REALLY loose, and she fixes it with a smaller needle for the purl rows.

Visit my blog Knitting for Patience
Knit4Pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 11:07 AM   #5
cacunn
Instepping Out

Thanked 1,103 Times in 826 Posts
I am very new to knitting so please take this with a grain (truck load) of salt and those that thave a great deal of experience can tell me why this is wrong.