Old 03-26-2008, 09:59 PM   #1
wholycow
Ribbing the Cuff

Expensive (quality)yarn-v-cheaper yarn?
Hi,...sorta newbie here..I've fallen pretty hard for some fabulous yarns at yarn shops,and have ended up paying quite alot to make a scarf/or hat. I love the yarn shop yarn,it's just gorgeous.... But, I'm not rich either,and not a super knitter yet, and may never be...but I do it for the peace,and calm of it..and to end up with something beautiful,even with all the imperfections I later find in it...Guess I want to know if you all think it's worth the extra expense,or do you still get your thrills out of yarn from a craft store. Not trying to suggest that I'm a yarn snob or anything like that..I've met some in person,that sort of frounded on some Lion Brand that I wanted to use...and still have. Appreciate your feedback. (really like you all..and glad I found you~)
wholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:08 PM   #2
twoxover
1st Leg of the Journey

hiya-
i'm also a very new knitter, and like you....i've learned a deep dark secret about myself....

i'm a yarn ho'. I love the different fibers..and yes, i LOVE the expensive ones. as someone who quilts, and did years of needlework...this is the balance i have struck with myself....

i try to patronize the local shops-if we don't, they won't be there. however, i'm also not adverse to internet shopping and ebay shopping. sometimes there are really great deals out there.....but again, i try to spend however little i have, i include the local shops as well. they offer help and encouragement, and so, it's an obligation on my part to share some of my $$ with them.
twoxover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:10 PM   #3
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
I've fallen for beautiful yarn, too. When I first got back into knitting, I thought that I'd be fine working with what I could find in the craft stores.