Old 07-11-2008, 05:50 PM   #1
Andres
Ribbing the Cuff

Do you prefer DPNs or circular needles when circular knitting?
I've never tried it before (DPNs), but it seems to be easier...

What do you think?

Old 07-11-2008, 06:11 PM   #2
cdjack
Turning the Heel

If possible, I always go for circulars. I hate dpns, unless I use them just to finish up a hat or something.

Courtney
cdjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:40 PM   #3
knitgal
Working the Gusset

It depends I guess. I love my DPNs for sock knitting, although I haven't tried magic loop or two circs, but I like circs for hats and garments.

OTN: Corona, Miter square blanket, Charity blankets
FO: Forest Canopy Shawl, Easy Baby Bootees, Kitty Pi, Ms. Marigold, Twinkle Toes, Josh's socks, Hedera socks, Spring Beret, Ashley's Birthday socks, Socks for the DBF's mom, grey socks for the DBF, my first socks, reversible cable scarf, ribbed hat for the BF, Manos Del Uruguay afghan, and a whole bunch of dishcloths!

knitgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #4
Mike
Working the Gusset

I use circular or ML to get a base going but after that I'd rather switch to DPNs if the item fits.

YouTube channel
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #5
mwhite
Instepping Out

I'm with Knitgal, love the DPNs...then I switch to circulars if the piece is large enough. It takes getting past the "Unruly Hedgehog" stage and somehow your hands and the needles become friends and it works out.
mwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 07:13 PM   #6
newamy
Working the Gusset

For small thinks I like DPN's. I've tried magic loop a couple of times and just don't like it.
For larger garments like a sweater body or a hat I use a circular. On a hat I move it on to DPN's when necessary.

I'm newamy on
newamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 09:30 AM   #7
rachael72knitter
Knitting the Flap

Originally Posted by mwhite View Post