Old 06-05-2009, 08:19 AM   #1
wildnwoolly
Casting On

Can I stretch ribbing?
Hi all, I'm a bit of a beginner with a question.

I'm in the middle of knitting a scarf for my husband. I didn't really have a pattern so decided to just make a rib scarf. I started just knitting k1, *k3,p3*, k1 (repeating between **). Sadly, it's becoming apparent that people make patterns for a reason, and my scarf looks ridiculous! It's 26 stitches across and the ribs are entirely bunched together so that the scarf is really thin and you can't even see there is a pattern.

Is there a way I can stretch the scarf horizontally so it's wider and you can see the rib pattern? I've tried tugging it, but it just springs back into place.

Thanks so much
wildnwoolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:14 AM   #2
knitgal
Working the Gusset

Ribbing wants to pull in- it's just the nature of the beast. It's also very stretchy, which is why it's used for hat brims, sock cuffs, around the neck of a sweater etc.

My first question would be what type of yarn are you using? If you're using wool yarn, you might have a hope of blocking it when you're finished. The main issue with this is that you will have to really stretch it and pin it out and I think it would be more trouble than it's worth.

I knit a ribbed scarf as my first project and it turned out lovely, but yes it pulls together. I think you're most likely stuck with it the way it is.

OTN: Corona, Miter square blanket, Charity blankets
FO: Forest Canopy Shawl, Easy Baby Bootees, Kitty Pi, Ms. Marigold, Twinkle Toes, Josh's socks, Hedera socks, Spring Beret, Ashley's Birthday socks, Socks for the DBF's mom, grey socks for the DBF, my first socks, reversible cable scarf, ribbed hat for the BF, Manos Del Uruguay afghan, and a whole bunch of dishcloths!

knitgal is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to knitgal For This Useful Post:
wildnwoolly (06-05-2009)
Old 06-05-2009, 09:25 AM   #3
OffJumpsJack