Old 06-07-2009, 01:39 PM   #1
Quiltlady
Working the Gusset

Do you feel this way about socks?
I've been knitting socks from the toe up for a few years and I love how they turn out. I have used ALL different brands of sock yarns. Opal, Lorna's Lace, and Regia just to name a few. But after I wear them for a short while they seem to GROW on my feet. They get loose. One brand I noticed felt slippery on my hard wood floors!! I am reluctant to wear them again for fear of slipping on the floor. I don't wear my knit socks with shoes since they make my shoes too tight so I am happy just to wear them around the house.
I've been knitting socks mostly with Cascade Fixation sock yarn that has elastic in it and I LOVE how they come out. They are soft, sturdy and stretchy but they do NOT grow on my feet and they wash well and dry fine too. I literally wear them all day long around the house.
I love the other yarns for their colors and self striping effects etc..but does anyone else experience their socks "growing" with each step? Any way I can end up loving those other fancy sock yarns and enjoy wearing them? Thanks so much for any insight you can give me.
Quiltlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:19 PM   #2
knittingymnast
Working the Gusset

You know the non-skid stuff for the bottoms of the sock? I've heard if you put those on, they work. Besides, you said that you don't wear your socks with shoes, so....

http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/pro...AA11DBBCD896D2

http://www.save-on-crafts.com/jifgripbrnon.html

(Thanks to Jan for referring me and yiziee to these sites! )
knittingymnast is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to knittingymnast For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (06-09-2009)
Old 06-07-2009, 11:03 PM   #3
Crycket
Working the Gusset

Send a message via Skype™ to Crycket