Old 10-25-2009, 01:23 PM   #1
claire82
Casting On

novice knitter - (inc in next st) help
Hi, i am a novice knitter and have dabbled with little projects like scarfs for my daughter's dolls, but i would like to move on to something more adventurous.
i decided to follow a basic doll pattern, which starts -
cast on 21 sts
1st row - K
2nd row - K1, inc in next st, P to last stitch, inc in next st, K1 (23 sts)

basically i am stuck on the increasing. i have watched youtube videos making it look very simple, and i get the basic idea, but when i get to the last stitch my yarn feels too tight to increase into the last stitch, am i doing something wrong?

any help appreciated
Claire
claire82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 01:34 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
To increase in a stitch you knit into the front of it as usual, leave it on the needle, then knit into the back leg of it. In this pattern, you don't increase in the last stitch, but in the one before the last stitch. There's also a video here on the Increases page. Maybe your sts are twisted and that's why they're so tight? Or you just knit tight. Stop that; you don't need to pull the yarn to tighten or even up a stitch, working the next one will do that.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 01:47 PM   #3
claire82
Casting On

thanks for your reply, but just to check, is it the same on a purl row? as in, would i knit from the front and then the back on a purl row?
Old 10-25-2009, 03:31 PM   #4
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Claire, is there anywhere we can look at this pattern? Did you transmit this line to us correctly, exactly as written:
Quote:
2nd row - K1, inc in next st, P to last stitch, inc in next st, K1 (23 sts)