Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2008, 08:42 PM   #1
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,218
Thanks: 1,664
Thanked 8,764 Times in 7,132 Posts
Running VISTA...how much ram and processor speed needed??
I am going to get a new computer soon and I'm looking at Dell since they've been good to me. I know VISTA needs more RAM... Is 3G enough and does it need more processor speed or something else as well?

Also...I would like to be able to play Roller Coaster Tycoon and Sims type games..what video card is necesssary? I got a new one for this computer a few years ago and it still tends to bog down when there is a lot going on on the screen. Maybe it's not the VC?
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-15-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
SteveDallas
Knitting the Flap
 
SteveDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 281
Thanks: 111
Thanked 110 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SteveDallas Send a message via Yahoo to SteveDallas
I don't know what Dell is doing about Windows in the consumer market... but if you don't really want Vista, I'd suggest you push them to give you a machine with Windows XP. I believe they're still selling it on their business side. I don't know exactly what RAM to recommend, but in general it's often cheaper to just take whatever their base offering is, and then buy & add your own memory upgrade separately.

I don't know much about video cards, but I'd suggest looking at the system recommendations for the games you're interested in and starting there.
__________________
SteveDallas
SteveDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SteveDallas For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-15-2008, 09:49 PM   #3
auburnchick
Grafting the Toe
 
auburnchick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 6,382
Thanks: 3,280
Thanked 2,085 Times in 1,688 Posts
Jan, I'm a computer tech, although I don't really know the specs required of that.

What I can tell you is that if you get a good graphics card, up your ram. Get the most that you can get on the front-end. It's much cheaper that way.
__________________
Nathalie - AuburnChick's Adventures

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. -- Isaac Asimov
auburnchick is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to auburnchick For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-15-2008, 10:07 PM   #4
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,218
Thanks: 1,664
Thanked 8,764 Times in 7,132 Posts
Most of the systems I'm looking at have 3 or 4 gigs of RAM. I know I can install more myself and I have, but I'd like to start with a good computer to begin with.

Oh and they do have some XP models still, but they are older ones and I don't want to start out any more obsolete than I have to.

Here's the one I'm looking at as it seems to have the most bang for the buck.
Dell XPS 420

Look at the memory and video card options. This is where I really get tripped up. Upgrading memory is cheap, but is it better to stick to 3G and go up to 800mhz or go for the 4G and 667 or 800 mhz?????

The video card is more expensive. I've seen the nVidia 8800 on some gaming systems so I'm assuming it's better than the one that comes with it??

Gad this is difficult! Or maybe I"m just making it so..
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 10:37 PM   #5
SteveDallas
Knitting the Flap
 
SteveDallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 281
Thanks: 111
Thanked 110 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SteveDallas Send a message via Yahoo to SteveDallas
Originally Posted by Jan in CA View Post
is it better to stick to 3G and go up to 800mhz or go for the 4G and 667 or 800 mhz?????
I'd go for the extra memory myself.
__________________
SteveDallas
SteveDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SteveDallas For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-16-2008, 12:01 AM   #6
Knitting_Guy
Grafting the Toe
 
Knitting_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Following the white rabbit
Posts: 4,992
Thanks: 2,318
Thanked 1,130 Times in 832 Posts
Well, as a Linux user I am obligated to say that Winblows sucks and Vista especially.

But as to your question, a faster processor with as much RAM as the board will support is always a good thing. A top notch graphics card helps a lot.
__________________
Mason

What do you mean guys don't knit?

Linux: because a PC is a terrible thing to waste.

Perfection is overrated. Knitting is meant to relieve stress, not cause it. Relax and enjoy it.

My boring blog http://masonm.joeuser.com

My knitting blog
http://knittingguy.blogspot.com/

My New Home Page (work in progress)
http://www.gpstrucker.000hosted.com

Knitting_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Knitting_Guy For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-16-2008, 12:11 AM   #7
Cynamar
Working the Gusset
 
Cynamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 254
Thanked 393 Times in 371 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Cynamar Send a message via Yahoo to Cynamar
I have Vista and all of the Sims games. I bought a new graphics card when I bought the computer and have three gigs of RAM besides the half-gig on the graphics card. Everything on my computer runs fine and I have a LOT on it. Be sure, though, to download updated drivers for a graphics card if you install a new one. They tell you that Vista requires a whole gig of RAM to run properly. I'm not sure if that is really true.
__________________
Cyndi

While there's tea there's hope. - Sir Arthur Pinero


My KH Blog Thread

My Blog
Cynamar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cynamar For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-16-2008, 07:26 AM   #8
zkimom
Working the Gusset
 
zkimom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redding, CT
Posts: 1,414
Thanks: 140
Thanked 430 Times in 280 Posts
Hi Jan,

I found this article that may help:

PCstats

Basically, this guy says that while there is an increase in performance if you increase your RAM from 1 gig to 2 gigs, there isn't a performance increase if you go from 2 gigs to 4 gigs.

So, 3 gigs should be fine.

Just so you know, my dh uses pcs and I think he's gone back to XP on all of them. I don't think I know anyone who actually likes using VISTA.

Best,
Susan
__________________
I'm Zkimom on Ravelry

Check out my photoblog: Photobella

Well, I've wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I'm happy to state I finally won out over it.
--Elwood P. Dodd
zkimom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zkimom For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-16-2008, 10:01 AM   #9
Cynamar
Working the Gusset
 
Cynamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 254
Thanked 393 Times in 371 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Cynamar Send a message via Yahoo to Cynamar
I like it fine but just had to get used to it.
__________________
Cyndi

While there's tea there's hope. - Sir Arthur Pinero


My KH Blog Thread

My Blog
Cynamar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cynamar For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Old 04-16-2008, 11:52 AM   #10
sinistral_needler
Knitting the Flap
 
sinistral_needler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kimberly, WI
Posts: 436
Thanks: 95
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to sinistral_needler
Vista is fine, it just looks different and take getting used to. I have no complaints about it but I am a casual computer user. (Meaning that I don't use it very much, not that I don't know how to use it, which I DO! )
__________________
Tracy
http://sinistral-needler.blogspot.com/

"Do whatever {Jesus} tells you to." ~ John 2:5
OTN: Nashua simple ribbed scarf, Seeded Cable Cardigan for Mom, washcloths, Rainy Day Scarf
OTH: baby bobble afghan, shells afghan
sinistral_needler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sinistral_needler For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (04-16-2008)
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista is messing with me and its making me mad figaro The Lounge 6 12-15-2008 09:07 PM
Vista and the new SP1 service pack... figaro The Lounge 1 03-24-2008 05:28 PM
Anyone From Sierra Vista AZ donna100rs Knitters Knear You 0 12-22-2007 12:24 PM
Super "Speed-of-Light" Pattern Needed! Falling2311 Pattern Central 5 04-02-2007 04:54 PM
Cap for running michanne Pattern Central 1 10-09-2005 12:45 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.