Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 11:26 PM   #1
brightspot
Knitting the Flap
 
brightspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athol, Idaho
Posts: 355
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to brightspot
Adding Cables Accents
I am going to make a basic stocking stitch cardigan. I was thinking that I want to add a two stitch cable about every seven stitches across up the front body of the sweater. I was wondering if the cable stitch will take up some of the ease of the sweater so that I need to add extra stitches to make up for it or if it will be fine with the number of stitches that it tells me to start with. I am so excited about this and I want to make sure I do it right. I have made one other sweater a few years ago and didn't think it all the way through, lets just say it was a little big, lol. I didn't think and added stitches to make it larger AND used bigger thread. I learned my lesson, so I just thought that it would be better to get someone elses take on my plans before I start.
__________________
Shawna
brightspot is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-18-2011, 12:38 AM   #2
Ingrid
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Ingrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pleasant Valley, NY
Posts: 29,583
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
The cable will use up some of the ease.

I'd suggest making a swatch with the cable and see what your gauge is and cast on accordingly.
__________________
"Trust the pattern!"

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 12:46 AM   #3
brightspot
Knitting the Flap
 
brightspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athol, Idaho
Posts: 355
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to brightspot
Thank you! I can't believe I didn't think about that, lol. The only problem is that my gauge swatches always have issues. No matter how careful I am when I start my project the gauge is never the same as the swatch. This is the reason that I make baby clothes and not grownup clothes. I figure with baby clothes there is always a baby somewhere that is that size. I don't know how to make my swatches match my actual knitting.
__________________
Shawna
brightspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:05 AM   #4
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
If you don't get the right number of sts then use a larger or smaller needle. To try and match gauge in a pattern, CO about 4-8 sts more than it says for 4". Then measure the sts in the middle, don't include the edge sts because they're not the same as the center ones and curl under.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:23 AM   #5
brightspot
Knitting the Flap
 
brightspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athol, Idaho
Posts: 355
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to brightspot
That is what I do. I even have one of those knitting rulers that has the hole in the midddle so you can count the stitches easily. I usually measure the middle 2.5 to 3 inches, but they never end up the same as when I make the project. I will try it again though. I really don't want to mess up this yarn. I have been saving it for a couple years. I was just trying to find a pattern I liked. It is funny that I ended up with such a plain one. Thank you both for your help. I'm off to convince the yarn that it should cooperate with me. Have a great evening ladies.
__________________
Shawna
brightspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 04:48 AM   #6
hyperactive
Working the Gusset
 
hyperactive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,097
Thanks: 104
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
how do you want to add the cable? With a background of reverse st st? Or just into the stocking stitch?
If you do not make a "devider" between the stocking stitch (st st) background and the stocking stitch cable they will blend in and be just a little structure.

Mostly either the sweater would be knit in reverse stochinette (just purl on right side and knit on wrong side) or you would make a line of a stitch or two on each side of the cable to devide them from the plain st st. You could also make a background of seedstitch, for example

Just try all 3 methods in your swatch if you do not know what you want. They are all veritable options with different effect. And they will all give a different gauge.

As a standart estimate to start with, I ususally add one stitch to my pattern for every band of cable (if I work on a background of rev. st st). Then you make a swatch and find out, if that works...

Also: the point of the actual crossing of the cables pulls in more than the band itself. So if you make crossings with few rows in between your pullover will be tighter in those spots, than if you left big spaces... just for an estimate.
__________________
Continental Knitter with passion, pretty busy and always onto something new.

I have been away from the forum for a bit, but I am still around!
hyperactive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 02:27 PM   #7
brightspot
Knitting the Flap
 
brightspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athol, Idaho
Posts: 355
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to brightspot
I forgot about having to have the purl stitches next to the cable. I use the 2 stitch cable with the purls on each side to make cuffs of sweaters sometimes. I don't want a lot of detail in the sweater just something simple to make the front a little different. Maybe I will look through some of my accent books (that I have never used, lol) to see if there is another pattern. Do you think it would look odd if I just made one purl on each side of the cable and left it at that. I was thinking to cross the cable every seven rows or so only.
__________________
Shawna
brightspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reversible Cables / double sided - bought Power Cables hyperactive General Knitting 1 08-08-2010 12:46 PM
When adding cables to a sweater... Mazie How-to Questions 1 09-26-2007 02:39 PM
Entwined Cables Pillow from Cables Untangled mornnen General Knitting 0 06-23-2007 12:03 PM
2 sleeve questions, maintaining rib and adding cables boyforpele13 How-to Questions 3 02-07-2007 04:05 PM
Adding On... johndeeregirl How-to Questions 4 01-17-2007 11:12 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 AM.