Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2007, 04:20 PM   #1
syndactylus
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 567
Thanks: 110
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
gauge questions
so I am a little confused: when a pattern says knit until something is so long, and then shows the sketch of dimensions, both of these are post-swatching right?

so when you are actually knitting the thing, it isn't even supposed to match either, really?

and when books mention people getting 22 stitches in an inch back in the day, what yarn were THEY using??? they say it was very warm and all that too.
I can't even get 32 stitches into 4 inches on size 0 needles with dk yarn!
am I just knitting much much looser than everyone else on the planet?
how do you learn to knit tighter? could you learn that in a class?

thanks.
syndactylus is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-14-2007, 06:36 PM   #2
cam90066
Working the Gusset
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,721
Thanks: 73
Thanked 542 Times in 485 Posts
Yes, you do your swatch first to ensure your yarn/ndl combo will match what the pattern calls for. If it doesn't you need to switch ndl size or totally recalc the garment/item with new gauge figs.

If it is apparel, it must match the schematic in order to fit at the selected size. If it doesn't match it'll end up larger or smaller.

***22 sts per inch***

Perhaps it's supposed to be 22 sts in 4 inches? That's quite common (5.5 sts/inch)...using light worsted or DK. At present, I'm making a fingertip towel that's exactly 22 sts/4 inches on sz 5...light worsted.

HTH,

cam
cam90066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 06:46 PM   #3
syndactylus
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 567
Thanks: 110
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
but then why is the length and width gauge the same in the swatch as in the drawing?
shouldn't it be smaller in the drawing so when I block it and it grows it will be the right size?
syndactylus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 05:38 AM   #4
redwitch
Working the Gusset
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NZ
Posts: 1,350
Thanks: 1
Thanked 182 Times in 160 Posts
If your swatch changes size after washing and drying, I would say convert the number of inches in length specified by the pattern into number of rows.

So if it says work until 10 inches long, and they want (and you've achieved on a washed swatch) gauge of 4 rows per inch, ten inches equal 40 rows. Before blocking, your 40 rows may be smaller - say 8.6 inches - but if you are getting gauge on the swatch, after washing the knitted piece, you know the gauge will reach 4 rows per inch.

So knit those 40 rows, even if that gives you less than 10 inches.
If your gauge after washing (from the swatch) is 4 rpi, then the item (after washing) should equal 4 rpi also, over 10 inches that should equal 40 rows.

Does that make sense?

Another option I suppose you *could* take: If your gauge on the swatch at first is 3 rows per inch (rpi) but after washing reaches the specified gauge of 4 rpi, and it calls for ten inches of knitting, you could do 7.5 inches, because you know it will increase to ten inches. That would work, but I recommend the first option.

Sarah
redwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 09:20 AM   #5
syndactylus
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 567
Thanks: 110
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
ok, thanks both of you!

I am glad to know that I'm not crazy.
syndactylus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 09:36 PM   #6
cam90066
Working the Gusset
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,721
Thanks: 73
Thanked 542 Times in 485 Posts
Bear in mind, few knitters are likely to use the exact ndl sz and yarn mentioned in a pattern. BUT, after swatching, all garment pieces, regardless of what's used, should sz to the schematic (unless you made intentional changes like longer sleeves for someone with long arms).

For those of us who sew, dressmaker patterns work the same way as the schematic. If you buy fabric that may shrink, you perform the washing/drying step first so that the cut pieces will be true to size.

cam
cam90066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:16 PM   #7
syndactylus
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 567
Thanks: 110
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
do you think if I wash the yarn before I knit it, it won't expand later?
if I'm not knitting lace, at least?
that would be convenient.
syndactylus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie tension and gauge questions okckwilter How-to Questions 3 02-13-2011 12:57 PM
Newbie questions... counting rows? gauge? switching needles? cristeen How-to Questions 2 11-25-2007 09:05 PM
Gauge Questions! sberb How-to Questions 3 10-29-2007 07:32 PM
Knitty's swell-a few questions on gauge and instructions Arugula How-to Questions 4 08-25-2006 06:47 PM
ridges in my stockinette; questions about gauge Kirin How-to Questions 1 01-05-2006 04:57 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.