Old 07-28-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
KayA
Casting On

Boye circular needles
Hello All,

I'm new to knitting and I'm fmailiar with basic knitting and have knitted baby booties , scarves .

I'm knitting a diagonal baby blanket now and it needs 123 sts when it gets to the middle. I'm very comfortable in using straight needles but mine don't hold that many stitches so I got myself the boye circular needles.

It was hard to cast stitches or the knit stitch on them because I usually rest the straight needles on my tummy and use it to push the needles. I din't have that grip on the circular ones.

Secondly, The stitches were getting tighter and it was hard to push them from the loop to the needles. Thsi also happens while knitting , it is hard to push the stitches back onto the needle.

Did anyone experience this problem?

I knitted the stitches back on my straight one( from Boye too) and I can work faster.

Do they sell xtra long straight needles enough to cast 100-200 stitches?
KayA is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-28-2010, 03:09 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
It could be the Boyes. There are other, smoother circular needles available where the join is more gradual. KnitPicks has some good ones at reasonable prices.

I don't know of any super-long straights. They would get very heavy on the ends, I imagine.

I've heard of people having trouble converting to circs because they prop the needle as you do, but with time you get used to them.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 03:43 PM   #3
KayA
Casting On

Thanks Ingrid,

Is there any other workaround other than circular needles..