Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 10:12 AM   #1
Lighting57
Turning the Heel
 
Lighting57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Eastern, USA
Posts: 989
Thanks: 437
Thanked 158 Times in 118 Posts
Help With Posting Pictures
This is a How-To forum so I thought I'd ask my question here. If it should be posted elsewhere, please move it for me.

I have read the sticky about posting pictures but it did not answer my questions.

I have a dial up connection because DSL is not available in my area.

When I post a comment and go to add pictures I always have to resize them. That is a trial an error deal because my program does not offer a slot in which to state I what the picture to be the maximum that this site requires. So after I have tried to upload pictures 2-3 times and have resized them each time, I usually end up with small picture as that just don't compare with some that I have seen posted here by others.

Which brings me to another thing. Why will this site keep refusing to upload my pictures while at the same time I see several post that have pictures which far exceed the max. size allowed?

I don't get it. Is it because they are loaded through an online place like flicker, and not loaded directly from the laptop?

Any help is appreciated.
Lighting57 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-01-2010, 11:17 AM   #2
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe
 
MerigoldinWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,143
Thanks: 1,177
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
I have dial up connection too. I think faster is available here, but we are cheap skates. (poor too, so a good thing)

I don't have a laptop and have never tried to download my pictures directly from the computer. I downsize my pictures to 1200 the longest way they are formatted on a program we have called Photo Impressions. Then I put my pictures either in PhotoBucket or FLICKR, from there I put them on here. I've noticed that the ones I put on from PhotoBucket a person can click on and they will get bigger, but the ones from FLICKR don't do that.

I don't know if any of this helps at all, but that is all I know.
__________________
MerigoldinWA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MerigoldinWA For This Useful Post:
Lighting57 (09-02-2010)
Old 09-01-2010, 12:01 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,184
Thanks: 1,656
Thanked 8,750 Times in 7,120 Posts
You should always resize photos. Resize them so they are not larger than 800 pixels on the longest side. That helps keep the file size down, too so photos don't take as much server space for KH and they aren't as hard to download for slow dial up users.

Flickr has changed their guidelines and we can no longer post the way we used to. All you can do now it seems is link to the photo on their site which I hate. I now use another site or attach photos after resizing them.

We really do try to keep an eye on photo sizes in here, but now and then a few do sneak by. I always let them know when I see them.

What are you using to resize photos?
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
Lighting57 (09-02-2010)
Old 09-01-2010, 02:10 PM   #4
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe
 
MerigoldinWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,143
Thanks: 1,177
Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Jan, what you say about FLICKR may be true (and I dislike picture links), but what I've done the last few times I put pictures here at KH is to do it directly from Ravelry. I put my project pictures up on Ravelry from FLICKR and then I click a particular picture and bring it up big, then I right click the picture and pick "save picture location" or something like that that. Then I put it up on a few groups on Ravelry then come over here and put it into "Whatcha' Knittin".

Unless they just changed something, this worked a few days ago.
__________________
MerigoldinWA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MerigoldinWA For This Useful Post:
Jan in CA (09-01-2010)
Old 09-02-2010, 01:53 PM   #5
Lighting57
Turning the Heel
 
Lighting57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Eastern, USA
Posts: 989
Thanks: 437
Thanked 158 Times in 118 Posts
I use the photo program that came with Windows 7 on my laptop.
Thanks everyone.

Because I have dial up and no a faster connection, I too don't bother to click on links that people post. I would love to see their work, but it just takes so long to get there.

Hopefully, we will soon be able to access a better speed.
Lighting57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about posting pictures Aquaria What'cha Knittin'? 2 01-27-2007 07:20 PM
Posting Pictures Lighting57 General Knitting 4 11-21-2006 10:19 PM
Help posting pictures--GOT IT want2knit General Knitting 3 08-28-2006 02:30 AM
Please read: ... Posting Pictures amy General Knitting 9 09-25-2005 05:30 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 AM.