Old 10-15-2010, 10:31 AM   #1
TangoLima
Casting On

How many guys here?
I was just wondering how many men/guys are knitters here? How/when did you get started? What do you like to knit?

I just started knitting, and my son is now asking me to teach him. He is 11 and has a short attention span. I am just learning myself, so I don't know if I have the patience to try to teach him too. Of course, dad doesn't like he idea of his son knitting!

Any suggestions for teaching him? Good needle size for kids? Should I just teach him the knit stitch to start with?

Thanks!
TangoLima is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-15-2010, 11:40 AM   #2
MMario
Turning the Heel

Originally Posted by TangoLima View Post
I was just wondering how many men/guys are knitters here? How/when did you get started? What do you like to knit?

... Of course, dad doesn't like he idea of his son knitting! Thanks!
Gee - just ignore the fact that military men have been knitting for ages; that sailors and many other occupations have knit ; that knitting was a man's craft for hundreds of years (commercially at least)

Nope - the media has managed to brainwash the world in a few short decades into believing that knitting is unmanly.

Drives me nutzoid!
boyforpele13 (10-20-2010)
Old 10-15-2010, 11:58 AM   #3
cacunn
Instepping Out

Thanked 1,103 Times in 826 Posts
TangoLima there are quite a few men on here that knit and do a good job at it. If you want to see some fine work check out some of MMario's lace work over at Ravelry, he is MMario over there also. Way above my pay grade but I'm getting there.

Last edited by cacunn : 10-15-2010 at 05:06 PM.
cacunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 12:32 PM   #4
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,751 Times in 7,121 Posts
We have lots of men here in KH.