Old 01-30-2011, 02:29 AM   #1
KatzKnitter
1st Leg of the Journey

General Q's about knitting socks
I wear knee socks under my slacks or jeans all winter, and I'm thinking of knitting a pair, because the beefy cabled or ribbed cotton knee socks I prefer are getting harder to find.

But I've never done socks before. Does sock yarn have the same elastic thread as store-bought socks? What should I look for in a good pattern and reasonably priced yarn for a beginner?
KatzKnitter is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-30-2011, 03:54 AM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,797 Times in 7,157 Posts
I suggest before you make a pair of socks with sock yarn that you make a pair of house socks with worsted weight yarn. You can learn about sock construction and become comfortable with the technique before you start knitting with size 1 or 2 needles and thin yarn.

I learned on this pattern and it's great! It has instruction for different yarn weights. This one uses double pointed needles (DPN).
http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/SockClass_Start.htm

If you prefer to magic loop or use two circular needles I can find a pattern for those, too.

Beyond that..a good sock yarn should have nylon of some type in it for strength. Merino or wool is good for warmth. You can find a few sock yarn types in the craft type stores (Michaels, Joann, etc), but you can find more on in LYS (local yarn stores), but it will be more expensive. Start with the less expensive stuff then move on if you choose.

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:01 AM   #3
KatzKnitter
1st Leg of the Journey