Old 06-02-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
elligator
Casting On

New to DPNs & have question about buying
Hello!

I have been knitting for a few years now but nothing very complex and always on straight needles. However, I'm tired of having to put patterns aside because they call for DPNs and I am resigned to learn... it doesn't look too hard but I am wondering what needles are the best sizes to own? I want to go pick up some at the store but I don't want to invest in tons of sets at first. Can anyone suggest the best sizes (2 or so) to own for diverse projects? I am interested in knitting socks, mittens and stuffed toys possibly. Thanks for your help!

Ellie

Last edited by elligator : 06-02-2011 at 06:18 AM.
elligator is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-02-2011, 07:28 AM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Needle size depends on the item you're knitting and the yarn weight. Socks would be better on size 1 or 2s, though if you're a tight knitter you may need 3s. A toy would be knit on the same needles if you do use sock yarn, but if you use a heavier one then you'd need a little larger one. Hats and mittens are usually done on worsted, and you'd need a size 8 or so for that yarn. You might look into circular needles as they can be used for straight/flat items as well. Something about 29-36" long can be used to knit the smaller items using the magic loop or single loop technique.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 01:42 PM   #3
Bettybee
Casting On

dpn
I am fairly new to knitting and i only use bamboo, i like how they feel and the yarn seems to stay on the bamboo better
Bettybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:04 PM   #4
elligator
Casting On