Old 06-20-2011, 03:37 PM   #1
Danisty
Ribbing the Cuff

Expert?
My husband calls me an expert all the time, but I find it so hard to believe, especially since he doesn't know the first thing about knitting. How much do you think you need to learn to be considered an expert? How do you know what level you've reached?
Danisty is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-20-2011, 04:01 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
You don't need to worry about levels such as expert. I've been knitting a long time so I have scads of experience and can tackle just about anything. But there's some technqiues and projects I haven't done, just because I have no interest in them - fair isle, socks, that sort of things. So because I don't know everything probably means I'm not an expert, just experienced. And I learn new things still.

But when you can figure out your mistakes and fix them, aren't afraid to tackle anything, you're pretty advanced. And that's all you ever need to be.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 04:20 PM   #3
Danisty
Ribbing the Cuff

I'm usually not really worried about it. I'm mostly just curious. I'm on my third sweater and I really want to try this one for my mom, but it definitely looks like it will be taking it to a whole new level for me.

http://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/Ca...D75000225.html

I'm pretty accustomed to Fair Isle, but this is done in fingering weight yarn so it will take me forever and the idea that I then have to steek it in the front sort of scares the crap out of me.

I made a swatch and steeked it a couple weeks ago using the crochet method and it held together pretty good, but that's just not the same as steeking something you spent so many hours working on, ya know?
Old 06-20-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
redbedhead
Ribbing the Cuff