Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 07:21 PM   #1
lgoddard
Knitting the Flap
 
lgoddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 308
Thanks: 82
Thanked 73 Times in 70 Posts
Quick Reply not working
Every time I try to hit "reply" lately it is doing the "quote" from the previous poster instead of just letting me do a quick reply. Anyone know what is wrong with my settings maybe?
lgoddard is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-27-2011, 07:54 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Maybe you're clicking the wrong button inadvertently... It's possible your browser display isn't in synch with what's on the screen. When you hover the mouse over the buttons, Reply shows "Quick reply to this message". The Quote+ shows "Multi-quote this message". Take a second to look at what shows up in the box to make sure you're over the right button.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:07 PM   #3
lgoddard
Knitting the Flap
 
lgoddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 308
Thanks: 82
Thanked 73 Times in 70 Posts
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
Maybe you're clicking the wrong button inadvertently... It's possible your browser display isn't in synch with what's on the screen. When you hover the mouse over the buttons, Reply shows "Quick reply to this message". The Quote+ shows "Multi-quote this message". Take a second to look at what shows up in the box to make sure you're over the right button.
This is what happens when I hit reply (it says quick reply when I hover the button) but it puts the quote in there when I actually click it. Strange this just started happening.
lgoddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:41 PM   #4
barb2401
Casting On
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by lgoddard View Post
This is what happens when I hit reply (it says quick reply when I hover the button) but it puts the quote in there when I actually click it. Strange this just started happening.
That is what happens to me. The message (quote) is above this message that I am typing. Sometimes there is not enough room to type a reply.
barb2401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:47 PM   #5
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
You can always take out the quote or part of it, and I've done some really long replies and the box expands and scrolls for whatever you want to put in it.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:41 PM   #6
lgoddard
Knitting the Flap
 
lgoddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 308
Thanks: 82
Thanked 73 Times in 70 Posts
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
You can always take out the quote or part of it, and I've done some really long replies and the box expands and scrolls for whatever you want to put in it.
I just have never had this happen before that is why I questioned it. Guess I will just take the quote out if it keeps happening.

Thanks!
lgoddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:48 PM   #7
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I've let Sheldon know, so he should be able to troubleshoot it. What browser are you using? Jan and I don't have a problem and we're on Firefox though she's got a newer version.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:06 PM   #8
lgoddard
Knitting the Flap
 
lgoddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 308
Thanks: 82
Thanked 73 Times in 70 Posts
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
I've let Sheldon know, so he should be able to troubleshoot it. What browser are you using? Jan and I don't have a problem and we're on Firefox though she's got a newer version.
I use Internet Explorer 9. Maybe this changed when I updated to IE9 since it is a newer update and it did not happen before. Must be just on my end with this version of IE9 I guess
lgoddard is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lgoddard For This Useful Post:
suzeeq (06-29-2011)
Old 06-30-2011, 09:23 AM   #9
redbedhead
Ribbing the Cuff
 
redbedhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 30
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
It happens to me too!
Originally Posted by lgoddard View Post
I use Internet Explorer 9. Maybe this changed when I updated to IE9 since it is a newer update and it did not happen before. Must be just on my end with this version of IE9 I guess
This happens to me too starting today. I use internet Explorer 8. So it is not just you.
redbedhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 10:38 AM   #10
DogCatMom
Knitting the Flap
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 398
Thanks: 87
Thanked 158 Times in 124 Posts
If I click the "Quick Reply" button, I get a message saying "choose the quick reply button," or something like that.

I have to choose the "Reply" button *inside* the previous post to have a response window come up.

Firefox. Macintosh.

DCM
DogCatMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Quick reply box crocee General Knitting 2 02-11-2010 03:44 PM
REPLY NOTICE? Northknitter How-to Questions 3 01-14-2008 09:49 PM
how to find your reply candy How-to Questions 1 12-12-2007 02:22 PM
quick reply candy General Knitting 5 11-21-2007 08:01 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 PM.