Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2011, 05:37 PM   #1
boberto10
Casting On
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can you insert a yarnover a row later?
Am knitting a lace border and discovered I forgot a yarnover early in 1 row. Knitted across the rest of the row then back across to discover my error. Is there any possible way to insert a yarnover after the fact (somehow???)? I don't want to rip it all out but that is the best alternative if I can't sneak that yarnover in somehow.
boberto10 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-14-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
blueygh2
Turning the Heel
 
blueygh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 729
Thanks: 37
Thanked 182 Times in 156 Posts
none known to me. If you don't want to frog and the rows aren't terribly long, you can unknit, despite the fact that some decreases are hard to unknit.
__________________
The ways of Yarn are inscrutable.

I'm NOT a "miss", I'm a lady!
blueygh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to blueygh2 For This Useful Post:
boberto10 (08-14-2011)
Old 08-14-2011, 05:55 PM   #3
boberto10
Casting On
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
*sigh*..............I was afraid of that. Difficult decreases, a bunch of knitting & purling through the back loops, & longish rows mean I'll be frogging the danged thing. Again.
boberto10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:05 PM   #4
blueygh2
Turning the Heel
 
blueygh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 729
Thanks: 37
Thanked 182 Times in 156 Posts
Lace can be cruel.
__________________
The ways of Yarn are inscrutable.

I'm NOT a "miss", I'm a lady!
blueygh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:32 PM   #5
Becky Morgan
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 637
Thanks: 62
Thanked 275 Times in 210 Posts
If it isn't too tight, you can treat it as a "make 1". Just pick up that strand where the yarn over ought to be and wobble it a bit to work loose a little slack. See if it suits you. If it does, no harm, no foul. If you're unhappy with the way it looks, then you start frogging.
__________________
Becky
Becky Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:32 PM   #6
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Yes you can, work to the point where the YO should have gone and just pick up the yarn between the 2 sts.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 05:27 AM   #7
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,542
Thanks: 636
Thanked 3,422 Times in 3,101 Posts
It's called an "afterthought yarn over" and there's a video under the Free Videos tab at the top of the page, Increases, if you'd like to see it.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Afterthought YarnOver MissKitty How-to Questions 7 01-31-2011 01:44 PM
Yarnover question dturner How-to Questions 1 02-17-2008 12:10 AM
is this a yarnover? laptop_knitter How-to Questions 1 12-29-2007 11:15 AM
help, k1p1 in yarnover buddhadoll How-to Questions 1 12-27-2005 04:37 PM
continental yarnover bonniejean2 How-to Questions 4 07-08-2005 10:42 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.