Old 11-14-2011, 11:46 PM   #1
Lchilton
Casting On

Backwards
I'm new to knitting but loving it! Tonight when I was knitting tho it suddenly seemed I was knitting backwards, like the yarn I was grabbing was slanting in the wrong direction. It seemed I was really having to fight to grab a piece of yarn because of this. Is that possible or is it just in my head?
Lchilton is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-14-2011, 11:49 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
It sounds like you may have twisted your stitches when you worked them on the previous row.

Make sure that you're inserting your needle correctly and wrapping your yarn correctly.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:50 PM   #3
Lchilton
Casting On

So is there a way to fix this
Old 11-14-2011, 11:50 PM   #4
DogCatMom
Knitting the Flap

Are you fighting with your needles? I was, the other day. I had #7 x 16" bamboo needles, and I had to fight for *every* stitch. I finally had absolutely HAD IT UP TO HERE! with those needles and replaced them with sharp-pointed #7s (metal!) and now I've almost completed the 2x2 ribbing for tomorrow night's class.

But, yes, while I was still fighting with the bamboo needles, the yarn seemed to be going every which way but the right way. I lost soooo much time with those !@#$^&$%# needles.

Could this be part of the problem?

DCM
DogCatMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 11:54 PM   #5
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
If you have a row of twisted stitches, you can correct that row by knitting through the back loop, and start correctly on the next row.