Old 12-27-2011, 06:00 PM   #1
Unravel
Casting On

Cast on Too Tight?
Hello all and first I would like to say I love, love this place! I spent most of my day yesterday just reading here and bookmarking things.

I'm brand new to knitting, but I do have the knit and purl stitches figured out. I started a scarf today, have done five rows of knitting and the bottom is curling. Are my cast-on stitches too tight? I don't think I'm knitting too tightly because the stitches move along the bamboo needles nicely. I don't want to go any farther if I need to start over at this point. I'm using size 10 circular bamboo needles and my yarn is a washable wool (Liberty Wool.) Any help/suggestions/advice is greatly appreciated!
Unravel is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-27-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
salmonmac
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,500 Times in 3,175 Posts
You may be doing stockinette stitch where you knit one row and then purl one row. That has a tendency to curl at the edges and roll at the bottom. Take a look at this thread which has several ideas that may help. Usually knitting several rows in garter st where you knit every row helps the cure at the bottom and putting an edge at either side in garter st (or some other non curling st like seed st) counteracts the roll. Blocking at the end will help a little too.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to salmonmac For This Useful Post:
Unravel (12-28-2011)
Old 12-27-2011, 06:13 PM   #3
Unravel
Casting On

Yes, that's exactly what I'm doing. O.K., back to row one for me and thank you so much!!!
Old 12-27-2011, 08:45 PM   #4
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,796 Times in 7,157 Posts
The entire edge will curl in stockinette so give it a pretty wide border all the way around. Even at that it may fold on the edge of the border, but it'll be better than no border.