Old 01-05-2012, 10:03 PM   #1
LoveBugAngel
Knitting the Flap

Yarn Yarn so many kinds!
Anyone have a favourite yarn for certain projects?

As you know I have just started out so I am JUST learning about different yarns. I still need the lady at the store to tell me which yarn I need to use for what.

I plan on making a baby hat for my newborn cousin and bought Sirdar Snuggly baby bamboo double knitting yarn, its sooooooo soft!!!

The yarn I used for my scarf is soft too but i find it gets like little pully things on it. For that I used Patons beehive baby chunky yarn.

Do you tend to stick to the same yarn for your hats, scarves, sweaters etc.... or do you use what the pattern calls for?

Teach me about yarn!
LoveBugAngel is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-05-2012, 10:51 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
You can use a similar fiber as the pattern does, often they're much too expensive for us regular knitters to use. Washable yarns - acrylics, super wash wools, cottons, blends - are better for baby and little kid things, or large items like blankets. They can also be used for sweaters and hats too if you prefer not to hand wash. Soft yarn of any fiber can pill (the little pully things) but it is soft. Some of that can be minimized by knitting it at a tighter gauge, but then it turns into something not so soft, so there's always a trade off somehow.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:55 PM   #3
justplaincharlotte
Working the Gusset

Originally Posted by LoveBugAngel View Post
Anyone have a favourite yarn for certain projects?