Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 06:11 PM   #11
Kala
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pound Virgina
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
The bag is knit in the round and measures 14" across the width which means you'd be knitting 28" around on your needle, not doubling the sts.
The pattern calls for 118 sts, I casted them on last night but they didnt come to end needle and wouldnt connect, this is the first project Ive used a cicular needle I guess Im just confused
Kala is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-08-2012, 06:13 PM   #12
knitcindy
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 683
Thanks: 46
Thanked 146 Times in 118 Posts
Wool Ease Chunky yarn is VERY thick. Are you using the same yarn that the pattern calls for? With that many stitches, it "should" be long enough to connect and work in the round.

knitcindy

Last edited by knitcindy : 01-08-2012 at 06:17 PM. Reason: Didn't read all the posts before answering.
knitcindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:33 PM   #13
Kala
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pound Virgina
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by knitcindy View Post
Wool Ease Chunky yarn is VERY thick. Are you using the same yarn that the pattern calls for? With that many stitches, it "should" be long enough to connect and work in the round.

knitcindy
No, Im used worsted weight think its #4, I dont want it really thick, but the length of thr cable is to long, I though about casting on enough sts to make them connect and decresing until I reach 118, but Im not sure if that would work, can you decrese the cast on sts
Kala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:12 PM   #14
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Then you can use the single loop method to get your stitches to join. After you do a few rounds though, it should be loose enough you don't have to loop the cord anymore.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:31 PM   #15
Kala
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pound Virgina
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
The bag is knit in the round and measures 14" across the width which means you'd be knitting 28" around on your needle, not doubling the sts.
I still dont understand what your saying the required number of sts wont fit around the cable, when I try to do so it streches the sts out. Is there anyway to make my cable smaller?
__________________
-Kala-
Kala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:18 PM   #16
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
That's why I posted the link to single loop knitting in post 14. That lets you make a loop in the cord so it's a little bit shorter and you can knit all your stitches in the round that way. Cast on with some scrap yarn and try it out.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
Kala (01-08-2012)
Old 01-08-2012, 09:01 PM   #17
Kala
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pound Virgina
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by suzeeq View Post
That's why I posted the link to single loop knitting in post 14. That lets you make a loop in the cord so it's a little bit shorter and you can knit all your stitches in the round that way. Cast on with some scrap yarn and try it out.
That link doesnt work I had to use bing to find it, thats why I got confused but it did help but I think that I to have straighten out the cord first!
__________________
-Kala-
Kala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:30 PM   #18
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I'm so sorry. I heard last week it had changed and I thought I fixed it.

Now on checking it, appears that both links I had for single/travelling loop were to the same person, but were on different blogs and have now been consolidated. The information didn't look the same to me, so that's why I thought I had different pages.

Here's a video, btw, hope that works for you.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic


Last edited by suzeeq : 01-08-2012 at 10:41 PM.
suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:43 PM   #19
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,286
Thanks: 1,677
Thanked 8,781 Times in 7,145 Posts
Originally Posted by Kala View Post
No, Im used worsted weight think its #4, I dont want it really thick, but the length of thr cable is to long, I though about casting on enough sts to make them connect and decresing until I reach 118, but Im not sure if that would work, can you decrese the cast on sts
When you substitute yarn you should try to use the same weight. In this case a chunky yarn. Worsted weight is a lighter weight of yarn so the same number of stitches cast on will be smaller. So you're probably going to have to magic loop as Sue is suggesting.

Also... cast on the stitches and then knit flat for a few rows before joining. Less chance of having a twisted cast on, too.
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using the wrong size needles Rosey2376 How-to Questions 2 01-01-2010 11:12 AM
Circular size 50 needles????? knitcindy General Knitting 1 01-08-2009 09:17 PM
knitting with wrong size needles doribll General Knitting 5 12-15-2007 11:27 AM
What am I doing wrong with my circular needles? knitname How-to Questions 4 09-27-2007 06:03 PM
size of circular needles usamacka How-to Questions 2 12-27-2005 11:51 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.