Old 01-31-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
Twilightreader
Casting On

Am I actually doing something wrong or am I overreacting?
I'm just learning to knit. I've can DO the slip knot to start me off, even though it takes me a while to get it right, I can DO my casting on all right, but when it comes to the knitting I'm worried I'm doing something wrong. As I do my stitches, the yarn between the two needles keeps increasing and increasing. I've tried several different methods of wrapping it around my fingers, but it keeps happening. Then when I get down to my last stitch (where the slip knot is), I have this big loop of yarn between the last stitch and the second to last stitch. This is the only place I can come for help, my family doesn't know I'm doing this (part of my Mom's Christmas present is what's on the needle right now) and my Mom's a crocheter, anyways.
Twilightreader is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-31-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
lenaznap
Ribbing the Cuff

I remember that happening when I was first learning. I can't remember what I did differently then versus now. The only thing I can think of is when I was learning I had problems with inconsistent tension and gauge, but the only thing I did to make that better is practice and muscle memory.

I knit and crochet, and I always wish beginners could somehow learn those crafts in the middle of something, the first couple rows never feels right to a beginner. I have taught several people to crochet and I always give them something that has at least a few inches already done at first.

I would suggest knitting a swatch first at least. After you knit a dozen or so rows from the cast on that strange loose piece from the first row might not be as big as you thought it was.

Wish I could help. Good luck.
lenaznap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lenaznap For This Useful Post:
Twilightreader (01-31-2012)