Old 03-31-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Oxymoronic
Casting On

Knitting an Afghan in the Round on 2 Circular Needles?
I'm a rookie knitter working on an afghan that is knitted in the round. The pattern started with the middle of the afghan: 8 stitches on double-pointed needles, with gradual increases every other row until the project became big enough to transfer to 29" circular needles.

However, now that the afghan is getting too big even for the circular needles, the pattern calls for me to switch to 2 pairs of circular needles. I'm nervous about making a mistake because I already have a lot of stitches (and hard work) on my needles. I've seen someone link two sets of round needles with some sort of plastic connector doodad before, but I don't know if this is a typical technique.

Can anyone offer some hints or links about knitting a large project in the round on two circulars? Thank you! I really appreciate any help.
Oxymoronic is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-31-2012, 10:43 AM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
You can connect the cords with interchangeable needle sets, but if you have fixed circs you can't do that. To knit with 2 separate circs, knit about half the sts with one then take needle B and knit the other half of the sts (doesn't have to be exactly half). Now you have needle A on the left, take the other end of it and knit until all the sts are off it. Needle B is now on the left, so take its other end and knit all the sts on it. Every few rounds knit a few more off the next needle before switching so you minimize any stretching between sts. There's a video on the Advanced Techniques page that show knitting with 2 circs; it's for small diameter knitting, but is basically the same for knitting a very large diameter.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote