Old 04-02-2012, 08:17 PM   #1
KnittingElf
Casting On

I need some books
I love to read and I love knitting, but I have only one knitting book. It's not even about knitting alone, it's like an encyclopedia of needlecraft.

So what are some good books? I'm a beginner, but I'm venturing out into intermediate stuff. Got any favorites you could recommend?
KnittingElf is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-02-2012, 08:26 PM   #2
Antares
Working the Gusset

The Knitter's Companion by Vicki Square is a very helpful reference book. I also have Sweater Design in Plain English by Maggie Righetti, which has lots of good information in it. Modern Top-Down Knitting by Kristina McGowan isn't the best top-down book you can get (her ideas of shaping using non-knitting techniques certainly leaves something to be desired), nor are the patterns all that great (in my opinion). However, her explanation of how to pick up and knit sleeves in top-down constructions is worthwhile.

I understand that anything by Elizabeth Zimmerman is worth having even though I sadly have nothing of hers.

Do some searches on Amazon and read some of their reviews. You'll get opinions galore and references to plenty of other knitting books, too. Have fun looking!
Antares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:40 PM   #3
KnittingElf
Casting On

Thanks Antares! I'll look into those.

You know, I didn't even think about going to my library! I'll have to make a trip tomorrow and see what they have. The best part about that is that those books are free, which leaves me more money for yarn!
KnittingElf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 09:26 PM   #4
fatoldladyinpjs
Working the Gusset