Old 04-11-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
KnitpickingRunner
Casting On

Yarn input?
I'm just getting started and trying to find a set of circulars and decided to go ahead and order the knitpicks "try it" set. But...I want to get enough stuff so I don't have to pay for shipping. :P

So, I started looking at some yarns that I might just want to have without having to think about a pattern and then picking a yarn to go with the pattern.

I figured sock yarn might be a handy thing to have a supply of. I run, play tennis, softball, etc... so I can always use a good supply of sport socks and thought I might go ahead and get some of the knitpicks stroll sport yarn. Anybody tried this? Like it? I probably need a new needle, too...I have one pair of 5 circs, but they will probably be busy on a blanket for a long, long time. The page for this yarn says #3-5 needles. What size should I go with and why? Do I need circulars? I see people talking about something called magic loop? I'm guessing that's something I'll want to look into and I need circulars for that, right?

P.S. I apologize in advance for not just googling all of this, but it's more fun to talk, right? :P
KnitpickingRunner is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-11-2012, 12:55 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq