Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
happybunny08
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Color changing on DPN isn't even
I'm making striped socks on Double Pointed Needles.

Question 1:When I change colors, I put the new yarn under the old. Now I'm not sure if I should carry the old yarn if I use the same color for a few rows or pick up the new yarn and continue using.

Question 2: Where I color change...the rows aren't lining up. How do I prevent this?

Thank you.
Stressful Knitter ;(

happybunny08 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-26-2012, 02:56 AM   #2
Jan in CA
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Jan in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 37,184
Thanks: 1,656
Thanked 8,750 Times in 7,120 Posts
Knitting in the round (any method) is knitting in a spiral. So they aren't really going to match up unless you use a method that helps. It's called a "jogless jog". Here's a couple links that should help.
http://techknitting.blogspot.com/200...s-stripes.html
http://tiajudy.com/jog.htm
__________________
Jan

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:43 AM   #3
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,386
Thanks: 617
Thanked 3,375 Times in 3,058 Posts
"Question 1:When I change colors, I put the new yarn under the old. Now I'm not sure if I should carry the old yarn if I use the same color for a few rows or pick up the new yarn and continue using."

If your stripes are only a few rows deep, it's easier to leave the old yarn, work with the new color, and then pick up the old yarn when it's needed again. You can catch the old yarn on a round so that you avoid a long float (similar to the way you catch the unused yarn in fair isle knitting). If the stripe of new color is very long however, you may want to cut the old color leaving a tail to weave in later and re-attach it when needed again.
salmonmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:44 AM   #4
happybunny08
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thank you both. I wasn't even aware of that method of doing stripes.
happybunny08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing yarn from border color to main color 1dove How-to Questions 6 11-19-2010 03:03 PM
Changing color? Janiegirl How-to Questions 4 04-21-2008 06:53 PM
changing color KarenO How-to Questions 2 04-17-2007 07:51 AM
Changing color Jeremy How-to Questions 26 12-06-2005 12:05 PM
Need help on color changing InkedInBlack How-to Questions 6 08-02-2005 06:28 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.