Old 06-01-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
cryaegm
Ribbing the Cuff

How Should I Increase This?
To start off, I'm new at knitting. I'm sort of doing this all by myself. I come from a family of knitters (my great grandmother knitted, so did my grandmother and my mom), and recently, I've wanted to learn how to knit. My grandmother died when I was three, and her work has inspired me to knit. My mom hasn't knitted in a long time, so what she could teach me, she did. The rest, I've learned on my own.

I started late last Saturday, and since learning how to knit, purl, moss/seed stitch (I think I've read they're pretty much the same?), and ribbing, I decided to try a first time project, so I started with leg warmers--well, over the knee leg warmers. I decided I wanted them over my knee/a little higher up my thigh because I really like thigh highs and, well, yeah.

Anyway, I couldn't find a pattern I really liked on the internet, so I decided to do my own. Here's what I have until I have to increase:

Cast On 34 stitches
Row 1: k1, *p1, k1 repeat from * to end of row.
Row 2: p1, *k1, p1 repeat from * to end of row.
Repeat until row 13.
Row 13: k2, *p2, k2 repeat from * to end of row.
Row 14: p2, *k2, p2 repeat from * to end of row.
Repeat until row 35, or whole thing measures 5 inches (that's where I need to increase because my leg measures 9 inches around 5 inches from my ankle)

I'm not sure how to increase this. Every two rows, I need to add two stitches until 50 stitches a little bit under my knee (about 5 inches from my knee), then do it again until I have 54 stitches at my knee, then again until I have 58 or 60 stitches for my thigh and where I want it to end.

Now before I had to redo it, I was at 35 rows and did an m1a and m1t, but the pattern didn't look the same. I tried to unravel to a certain row, but lost track, so I had to do it over and before I get to that part again, I want to make sure I know how to do this increase.