Old 06-07-2012, 11:11 AM   #1
PiccolaPesca
Casting On

Help! problems knitting with US15 needles
I'm new to knitting, and i've been teaching myself with books & internet. I've been practicing the project I'd like to complete with different sized needles. After my work became consistent using US10, i decided to try practicing with the actual size needle the project calls for, US15. Not doing so hot!
The more stitches I transfer over to the right needle, the longer the string of yarn between the needles gets! Also the work on the right needle seems to be spiraling around the needle. I've been trying my best to keep the tension the same. But still I keep having the same problems.
Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Any tips for using this size needle? Any help is appreciated!
PiccolaPesca is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-07-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
It may be the cast on you use, and sometimes sts will twist around the needle. After you have a couple rows done it shouldn't be a problem, the knitting will have some length and they'll stay straight. If get the loops between stitches on the first row, you're using a backward loop CO and that's what it does. Try a cable cast on or even long tail and that should help. A knit CO is easy, but with a larger number of sts they'll twist around the needle easily too; the cable CO will too, but there's a little more 'heft' to it, so might not be as bad.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 11:20 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,739 Times in 7,111 Posts
Needles that large are awkward to knit with at least at first IMO. I'd suggest about a size 9 or 10.