Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 06:19 PM   #21
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay thanks... I think I need more different circular needles!! I'll have a go
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-26-2012, 06:41 PM   #22
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
What do you have now? A needle that's 29-32" is pretty versatile. It's long enough to single or magic loop for hats and mittens/gloves, and use for sweaters in the round, or a small blanket knit flat.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
suziekate (06-27-2012)
Old 06-27-2012, 06:20 PM   #23
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think I have two 4.5's - one 40cm one 60cm, a 5 in 60 cm and 6.5 in 60 cm... and I have dpn's in a 5...

Am i right that magic loop won't work for knitting hat from bottom up??
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:21 PM   #24
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think a 60cm is like 23"? so mine is not long enough?
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:34 PM   #25
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Sure you can magic loop from the bottom up. But you're right, the 60cm isn't long enough. You can use the single loop version of it though...
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
suziekate (06-27-2012)
Old 06-27-2012, 06:38 PM   #26
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hmm but it looked like on the video the lady was making the top of a hat? But okay I'll just do single loop for now! I also have another circular needle, which seems bigger and longer but its so annoying, circulars don't have the size printed on them!? so i can't tell what it is :(

I'll check out that single loop vid now!
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:42 PM   #27
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am so confused! I don't understand why you have to do that pulling through thing on the video, I guess I'll start knitting and then I'll pick up stuff as I go along but right now i don't get why you have to pull anything through!
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:03 PM   #28
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Yes, she probably was working on the top of the hat, but it can be used to start one too. Anytime your needle is bigger than the circumference you're knitting, but it's too short to do magic loop. Pulling the cord through the sts is what 'shortens' the needle so you can make something smaller when the needle is too long for the sts to fit around. I don't fiddle with it too much, for singe loop you can just spread the sts out from the left needle tip as far as they go, then 'pinch' the sts on the cord closer to the needle and start knitting with the right needle and that will make the loop. But yes, try it out and after a few rounds it gets easier and you'll see how it works.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
suziekate (06-28-2012)
Old 06-28-2012, 07:58 AM   #29
suziekate
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: south wales!
Posts: 58
Thanks: 40
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm afraid I am still confused! Because my needle apparently isn't big enough but is also too big for the circumference of my knitting? sorry about all this!
suziekate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 08:19 AM   #30
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,829
Thanks: 653
Thanked 3,500 Times in 3,175 Posts
The problem comes up because your needle is too big for the circumference of your project, a hat for example. The stitches are all stretched out initially or they will becomae stretched out as you decrease sts for the crown.
So, you can get around this problem by using a needle with a much longer cable which can be used for magic loop or single loop, or you can use two circular needles or double pointed needles. These all give you a way to knit a small tube. Try the videos under Small Diameter knitting under the Free Videos, Advanced Techs to see how these work if you need to.
salmonmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another gauge/tension question okckwilter How-to Questions 3 03-06-2011 12:07 AM
What do you do with your gauge/tension squares? Irishmam General Knitting 12 06-14-2009 10:11 AM
problems with gauge/tension JodiRMurphy How-to Questions 2 11-19-2008 12:48 PM
Tension squares eladine How-to Questions 12 01-30-2008 09:00 AM
Idea with Gauge squares hainangel2000 Pattern Central 1 11-19-2007 10:18 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.