Old 07-07-2012, 02:38 AM   #1
Jane9898
Casting On

How many stitches to cast on?
What are the rules to know how many stitiches to cast on ?

I'm a lazy student and I am weak in following instructions and also because I don't find the exact size on the patterns I find or they r nt free.

I usually use long tail cast on, but what is the usage of the long tail? Do I need to leave more than 2" of tail? Because I find anything more than 2" is troublesome while I'm knitting the whole garment

I learnt that I should round the yarn on my needle for 20 times then use at length to get four times more in order to get 80sts, but it turns out I usually leave too much yarn unused so it seems to me this method won't work ?!?

Thanks for your sharing and time!!
Jane9898 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-07-2012, 05:34 AM   #2
salmonmac
Mod Squad

Thanked 3,376 Times in 3,059 Posts
In general, you need to cast on the number of sts that will give you the width that you want for your project. You find out how many sts that is by making a swatch or small test piece with your yarn and your needles in whatever stitch the pattern gauge tells you (or the st you plan to use in the project) and calculating the sts/inch. Once you've done that you can modify the pattern to any size you want.
It's better to have about 6 inches of tail left from the long tail in order to easily weave in the end when the project is finished. More is good too because you can use it to seam if that's called for.