Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
KnittingNewbie12
Casting On
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How to adjust gauge?
Ok, so because I want what I am knitting (a shawl) to fit and work out as the instructions say it will, I intend to knit a gauge swatch. Hypothetically, my gauge is not the same as the instructions say it should be, so now what? How do I go about adjusting my gauge so that it measures up with the "so many stitches and so many rows equals so many inches"? Thanks.
KnittingNewbie12 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-30-2012, 11:39 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Shawls don't need to fit like a sweater so as long as the gauge isn't drastically different you're fine.

Answering your other post - you can usually find another substitute fingering yarn, here's some of the other yarns that were used. If you want to use laceweight instead that's fine. Lace is usually knit fairly loose so try out the needles suggested for the fingering weight and see how it looks, not so much to get the same gauge. Try a sample of the pattern repeat, or just cast on and work a few inches. Then block what you've got done, even while it's on the needles, and see how it looks. I see that it's done on a size 4 and that's not really too big for a lace yarn. If you want to go down in needle size that would be okay, you'll just need more yardage if you work more repeats of the pattern, or it may come out a little bit smaller.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:33 AM   #3
salmonmac
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,301
Thanks: 612
Thanked 3,349 Times in 3,033 Posts
If you do need to adjust gauge the simplest thing to do is to change the size needle you're using: too many sts/inch, go to a larger needle, too few, go to a smaller needle. Get the stitch gauge and don't worry about the row gauge so much. Most patterns have you knit so many inches anyway.
salmonmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need to adjust the gauge? vantreysta How-to Questions 10 03-30-2012 01:44 PM
How to Adjust Gauge Fenton How-to Questions 3 03-27-2011 01:35 PM
How do I adjust for gauge in rows not stitches? ac151 How-to Questions 3 03-26-2008 07:58 PM
how to adjust? Sunny_Singer How-to Questions 3 02-01-2008 09:36 AM
How to adjust row gauge maman How-to Questions 4 10-03-2006 09:36 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.